Wyndham Clark's U.S. Open Victory Sparks Controversy Over Potential Missed Penalty

Created: JANUARY 21, 2025

Wyndham Clark's recent U.S. Open triumph has ignited debate among golf enthusiasts, with some suggesting a possible rule infraction went unnoticed during the tournament. Clark secured his maiden major title with a one-stroke victory over Rory McIlroy, finishing at 10 under par. However, questions arose concerning a specific chip shot near the green, where video footage appears to show Clark grounding his club in a manner that may have caused the ball to move slightly.

Wyndham Clark hoists the trophy

The grainy nature of the video makes it difficult to determine with absolute certainty whether the ball moved and whether any movement was caused by Clark grounding his club. Opinions on social media platforms are divided. Some, like Barstool Sports' Daniel Rapaport, contend that the ball's movement was negligible and wouldn't warrant a penalty. He suggested the ball might have merely "oscillated," which, according to USGA rules, would not result in a penalty if the ball returns to its original position.

However, golf's Rule 9.4 stipulates a one-stroke penalty for moving a ball at rest. Had a penalty been applied, and assuming no other changes to the subsequent play, both Clark and McIlroy would have concluded the tournament at 9 under par. This scenario would have triggered a two-hole aggregate playoff, a format adopted in 2018, replacing the previous 18-hole Monday playoff.

Wyndham Clark looks to the sky

This win marks Clark's second professional victory. For McIlroy, the wait for his fifth major title continues, extending a nine-year drought since his last major win in 2014. Despite this setback, McIlroy has demonstrated consistent performance in major championships, achieving top-eight finishes or better since 2022, excluding this year's Masters where he missed the cut. His performance at the U.S. Open marked his third top-three finish and fourth top-five finish within this period.

Wyndham Clark and the trophy

Comments(0)

Top Comments

Comment Form